Wondering How To Get Your Medical Marijuana Card In Virginia? We Made It Easy.
Doctors are available from 8 AM – 10 PM, seven days a week, and you’ll never need an appointment — just a cell phone or a computer.
- RegisterFill out the intake form
- ConnectConnect with a medical marijuana doctor online - no appointment needed
- ConsultationTotal Cost for Medical Cannabis Consultation and Certification is $179
- DownloadDownload your certification and visit a medical marijuana dispensary today
Medical Cannabis in Virginia
Knowing how to get medical cannabis in Virginia can give you access to holistic treatments that work for you. Patients must be a resident of the state. Out of state ID’s are allowed with proof of residency. There is no minimum age requirement in Virginia. Patients under the age of 18 can qualify, but require a parent or legal guardian to register with the Board of Pharmacy. Virginia medical cannabis laws do not allow the sale of cannabis flower, but patients with a Virginia medical cannabis card can purchase medical marijuana.
What are the Qualifying Conditions for a Medical Marijuana Card in Virginia?
In Virginia, potential qualifying conditions for medical cannabis are less stringent than some other states. Before you learn how to get medical marijuana in Virginia, you should know the qualifying conditions. Patients qualify for medical cannabis with any condition the physician deems can benefit from medical marijuana treatment. Some of the most common conditions include:
- Chronic pain
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Cachexia and wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s Disease
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- Hepatitis C
- Sickle Cell Anemia
How Does Heally's Telehealth Platform Work in Virginia
If you find yourself constantly wondering how to get medical cannabis in Virginia,, Heally may be able to help. Simply sign up on our website and we’ll connect you with a licensed medical marijuana doctor. Your doctor will evaluate your condition and discuss potential treatment options. If your physician determines cannabis is right for you, they’ll supply a certification that can be used at a local dispensary. The total visit and certification cost $179, which will not be charged if your doctor believes that your online visit failed to meet their standard of care.
The Virginia Medical Marijuana Card renewal process can be done 100% online.
How To Get Your Medical Cannabis Card In Virginia?
Once you have been certified by a physician on the Heally platform, you will need to use your recommendation to register with the Virginia Bureau of Health
To complete your medical marijuana card application, you will have to pay a separate $50 fee to the state of Virginia. Please allow 7-10 days for the Board of Pharmacy to process the registration application. Once issued, the registration card will be mailed to the address of record listed on the application.
FAQ for Medical Marijuana in Virginia
Wondering how to get your medical card and CBD products? Check out this FAQ and learn more about the process and the requirements.
How much does a medical cannabis card cost in Virginia?
Your card will cost $179 for the year, and you only have to pay if you’re approved by a doctor!
Is it legal to get my medical card online in Virginia?
Since 2020, the Virginia Board of Pharmacy allows patients to speak with qualified medical professionals online about the potential use of cannabis.