Vermont was among the first 15 states in the U.S. to legalize cannabis for medicinal use. California was the first in 1996, and Vermont passed S. 76, An Act Relating to The Medical Use of Marijuana, in 2004. The original bill dissolved penalties for people who possess cannabis and cultivate at home, but since it was passed over 15 years ago, the text has been amended a few times. S. 76 also established the Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR), to oversee the medical cannabis program.
In 2020, Vermont legalized recreational sales after Gov. Phil Scott let S. 54 pass without his signature. S. 54 created guidelines to regulate an adult-use cannabis program. This made it legal for anyone over the age of 21 to purchase cannabis in Vermont, no medical cannabis card required. Adult-use sales aren’t set to begin until late 2022, at the earliest. This will allow anyone over the age of 21 to purchase cannabis in Vermont.
Even though cannabis is legal for adult use, you shouldn’t wait until sales begin to access cannabis if you have a qualifying condition. Medical cannabis purchases aren’t taxed under the Vermont Sales and Use Tax, so patients pay less at the dispensary. Unfortunately, medical cannabis isn’t covered under traditional insurance plans.
Medical cannabis patients in Vermont can possess up to two ounces at one time, five grams of concentrate, and no more than the yield of two mature plants at home.
Quick Guide to Getting Your Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont
- Check Your Eligibility
Check the list of qualifying conditions down below to see if you’re eligible for a medical marijuana card in Vermont.
- Find a Doctor
Licensed physicians, licensed naturopathic doctors, certified physician assistants, and licensed advanced practice registered nurses are able to recommend medical cannabis to you in Vermont.
- Apply with the State of Vermont
You must submit your doctor’s recommendation with your application to become a registered patient with the Vermont Marijuana Registry.
Am I Eligible For a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont?
According to the State of Vermont’s Cannabis Control Board, the conditions qualifying residents to obtain a medical marijuana card are:
- Multiple sclerosis
- HIV or AIDS
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (requires the Mental Health Care Provider Form)
Medical conditions that produce one or more of the following symptoms also may qualify: wasting syndrome, chronic pain, severe nausea, or seizures.
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a medical marijuana card. Eligible patients under the age of 18 must have a caregiver over the age of 21 to apply for them. If you don’t think you qualify, reaching out to a licensed physician might be beneficial, anyways. Many physicians can recommend alternative remedies to manage your health conditions.
Find a Cannabis Doctor in Vermont
Healthcare providers licensed to practice in Vermont, including but not limited to physicians, osteopathic physicians, and nurse practitioners can recommend medical marijuana to eligible patients. Also, this includes licensed individuals under “substantially equivalent positions in New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York.”
For mental health conditions, psychologists, clinical social workers, and clinical mental health counselors qualify. Vermont’s Cannabis Control Board makes it clear that non-certified and non-licensed psychotherapists and licensed alcohol and drug abuse counselors do not qualify as mental health care providers.
Heally’s online and in-person network of licensed healthcare providers in Vermont makes it easy for you to find a reputable, knowledgeable practitioner. Read here to learn more about the benefits of cannabis-assisted therapy alongside a knowledgeable physician.
Keep in mind, there is a fee to receive a medical marijuana recommendation.
Apply With The State of Vermont
Once you receive your doctor’s recommendation, you will submit an application to the state of Vermont and become a registered patient of the Vermont Marijuana Registry. There is a $50 application fee.
New can create a new account here to apply online. Caregivers applying on behalf of an eligible medical cannabis patient can create an account here. You can also submit your application through the mail and pay with a check or money order. Applicants must submit a digital photo of themselves via email to verify their identity. The photo must be:
- In color
- Taken within the last 6 months and reflecting your current appearance
- Clear, not grainy, fuzzy, or blurry
- An image of you without other people
- A full face-and-shoulder shot without sunglasses or hats
Make an Appointment
To schedule an online or in-person appointment with a cannabis physician, fill out our new patient contact form. We will be in touch soon.