If you are interested in learning about the medical marijuana laws in Massachusetts, you have come to the right article. In order to qualify for medical marijuanna in Massachusetts, one must be over the age of 18 to qualify for a medical marijuanna where you only need to see one certified practisioner. Though medical marijuana is legal, one may not smoke in public atmospheres. Certain states have a Compasionate Use program, which honors medical marijuana across different states, but unfortunately Massachusetts is not one of them. With that said, remember it is illegal to travel across state lines and mail marijuana.
Qualifying conditions for a medical marijuana card in Massachusetts:
- Hepatitis C
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
Remember that in Massachusetts, towns, cities, landlords and employers have their own rules regarding medical marijuana use, and they are important to research and keep in mind.
FAQ on medical marijuana card Massachusetts laws:
Where can I find dispensaries in Massachusetts?
-The Cannabis Control Commission has a webpage dedicated to helping find medical marijuana dispensaries near you, which can be found here.
Can I purchase a firearm if I have a medical marijuana card?
-According to the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, “Any person who uses or is addicted to marijuana, regardless of whether his or her State has passed legislation authorizing marijuana use for medicinal purposes, is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance, and is prohibited by Federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition.”
Can a caregiver go to the dispensary for me to pick up my medical marijuana?
-Yes, for more information on registering, inquire here.
If I want to open a medical marijuana-related business, what can I license it as?
- Marijuana Third Party Transporter
- Marijuana Retailer
- Standards Testing Laboratory
- Microbusiness Delivery Endorsement
- Marijuana Transporter with Other Existing Marijuana Establishment License
- Craft Marijuana Cooperative
- Marijuana Cultivator
- Marijuana Research Facility
- Marijuana Product Manufacturer
- Marijuana Microbusiness
Can I grow medical marijuana at home?
-Individuals over the age of 21 may grow up to 6 plants, but if there are other individuals who are also 21 years old and want to grow, the maximum number of plants a residence can grow is 12.
Once I am certified, do I ever have to speak to the doctor about my medical marijuana prescription?
Patients have to recertify annually with the Medical Use of Marijuana Program through a Certifying Healthcare Provider.
Can my business become a licensed research facility without a permit first?
No, it is necessary to apply and receive a research permit first before becoming a licensed research facility.
Does a research permit cost money?
There is a $1,000 application fee and a $1,000 annual fee.
For more information on medical marijuana in Massachusetts, click here.