How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
If you’re wondering how to get medical marijuana in Arkansas, you’ll be glad to know that medical cannabis has been legal in Arkansas since November 2016. Arkansas’s medical marijuana program establishes the system for growing, distributing, and purchasing medical cannabis in the state. It also provides legal protections for MMJ physicians and patients.
Follow the steps below to discover whether you qualify for medical cannabis and how to get an Arkansas medical card.
Medical cannabis laws across the country have been temporarily changed to combat the spread of the novel coronavirus. Several emergency measures have been put in place in Arkansas to keep MMJ patients safe.
During the COVID-19 pandemic, MMJ patients can place orders by phone or online for home delivery.
Until the emergency declaration is concluded, in-person doctor’s visits are not required. Telemedicine is being offered for patient certificates. This process allows you to get certified from the comfort of your home. During a telemedicine appointment, you connect with a doctor using your phone, tablet, or computer and complete the evaluation digitally. Sign up with Heally to book an appointment with a doctor in your state.
Further, Arkansas medical card expiration dates during the emergency declaration have been extended.
There are three easy steps to getting a medical card in Arkansas:
- Make Sure You Qualify: You must have at least one qualifying condition to be eligible for medical cannabis.
- Get a Written Certification: You must receive a written certification from a licensed physician to obtain an Arkansas medical card.
- Submit Your Application: Once you have the certificate, you’ll need to submit your application with the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) to apply for your Arkansas medical marijuana card.
1. Determine Whether You Qualify for Medical Cannabis
MMJ patients must meet several requirements to get an Arkansas medical marijuana card.The first requirement is residency. To get a medical card in Arkansas, you need to be a resident there and provide proof of residency. There are also some age limitations, which stipulate that you must be at least 18 years old to receive a medical card and over the age of 21 to smoke cannabis. Minors require parental consent.
To obtain an Arkansas medical card, all medical cannabis patients in Arkansas must be diagnosed with at least one qualifying condition from this list:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia/Wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable pain that hasn’t responded to traditional forms of treatment for over six months
- Seizures such as those associated with epilepsy
- Severe arthritis
- Severe nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms such as those associated with MS
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
- Tourette’s syndrome
However, you may be able to petition the Arkansas Department of Health for consideration of your illness if your medical condition is not on this list. The ADH will hold a hearing and decide within 120 days.
It’s also important to note that, while there is no set requirement, most MMJ physicians won’t provide certifications for patients who haven’t undergone other types of treatment before applying.
The state also has a physician determination requirement to acquire an Arkansas medical marijuana card, which requires you to use a certified doctor who has a “bonafide” relationship with you. This stipulation typically means that you have an existing relationship with the doctor and haven’t sought him out solely to apply for medical cannabis.
2. Get a Written Certification
You’ll need a written certification to be able to apply for an Arkansas medical marijuana card. To get this certification, schedule an appointment with a licensed physician in the state. The physician you choose will need to be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Arkansas, in good standing to practice medicine, have a controlled substance license filed with the DEA, and, as mentioned above, have a bonafide relationship with you. There is no stand-alone list of MMJ doctors in the state.
While you would typically be required to go in for an in-person consultation and physical exam, you can now get your patient certification via a telehealth appointment during the COVID-19 pandemic. Book an appointment with a certified doctor through Heally to attain your Arkansas medical card. This appointment requires that you fill in a patient certification form, go over your medical history, and answer questions. It’s also an ideal time to discuss your questions and concerns about medical cannabis with a licensed professional.
Your physician will determine whether you’re eligible for a medical card during the consultation and provide a patient certification if you qualify. A consultation can cost anywhere from $120 to $260.
3. Submit Your Application and Get Your ID Card
Once you have your patient certification from the doctor, you can submit your application for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas via AMMsys, the online Arkansas Medical Marijuana System. Your certificate is only valid for 30 days, so it’s a good idea to register immediately. You’ll need to provide a copy of your state ID or driver’s license as well as your written certification to apply. There is a non-refundable $50 fee to apply to the Arkansas Department of Health for an MMJ card.
You can apply online or download the form and send it in via regular mail. Once you have your ID card, you’ll be added to the patient registry, and your medical card will be valid for one year. Your MMJ card will include your picture, address, and unique patient ID number. It will grant you all the legal rights and benefits to consuming, transporting, and possessing medical cannabis under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program. That is how to get medical marijuana in Arkansas.
4. Purchasing Medical Cannabis
With a medical ID card, you can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis every 14 days. This purchase must come from a licensed dispensary in the state. Home cultivation of cannabis is not allowed.
You can find a list of 33 dispensaries open in Arkansas here. You’ll have plenty of choices, including flower products, tinctures, oils, concentrates, topicals, pills, and vaping liquids.
Recommended CBD Products
Using CBD products is an excellent way to complement the positive effects of medical cannabis. Heally delivers CBD products nationwide, and you don’t need an Arkansas medical marijuana card to order. Here are some recommended CBD products to consider, delivered straight to your door.
This all-natural CBD tincture is the perfect addition to your daily self-care routine. It contains no solvents or chemicals, and it is meant to help you recover from aches and pains so that you can relax from everyday stressors.
Get all the potential benefits of CBD from this CBD powder blend, conveniently packaged in 30 single-serve sachets per box. The powder dissolves quickly in hot water and is a great way to make the CBD drink of your choice. This powder can help absorb CBD in the body more rapidly.
This best-in-class vaping hardware makes it easy for you to enjoy premium uncut CBD oil with a mint flavor and a hint of chocolate.
Medical marijuana, aka. cannabis should be used under the direction of a licensed healthcare provider. This site is intended for adults and legal, medical marijuana patients and contains links to products we sell on our marketplace.
How does Heally work?
Creating an account is easy, free, and safe in our HIPAA-compliant platform. The process of obtaining a medical card in Arkansas is simple. You can visit with a doctor from the comfort of your home or on the go using your cell phone or computer. No appointment is necessary. If the physician thinks cannabis is right for your health and wellness goals, they will discuss treatment options and grant you a downloadable certification document. Please note there’s no charge if the doctor doesn’t believe the video visit meets her or his standard of care. If you do not live in a medically legal state and would like access to CBD products, visit the CBD Marketplace. We ship CBD products nationwide without the requirement of a doctor’s recommendation for an Arkansas medical card. Questions about how to get medical marijuana in Arkansas? Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.